≡ Menu

Available Free DNS Servers

DNS is a protocol that allows you to convert a domain name (e.g. google.com) to its IP address (e.g. The A record in a DNS entry converts a name to its IPv4 adddress. The AAAA record contents name to its IPv6 address.

There are two types of name servers on the internet:

1) Authoritative name servers: These are the name servers that respond authoritatively about a domain name. For example, for the domain name google.com, one authoritative name server is ns1.google.com and so on.
2) Open Recursives: These are the name servers provided by your internet service provider (ISP) or by some other company that provides DNS resolution services. The open recursive DNS servers can answer for any domain name. They recursively fetch the answer to a query by starting at the root DNS servers. These are the DNS servers that you put in your operating system configuration files.

There are two very popular free open recursive DNS servers that you can use on your Linux server. Here are the IP addresses of the two companies providing free DNS services:

1) OpenDNS:

The name servers of OpenDNS are as follows:

2) Google Public DNS:

The name servers of Google Public DNS (previously Granite Canyon) are as follows:

How to change to the free DNS servers above on Linux?

To change to OpenDNS or Google Public DNS, you must change the following file on your Linux box:


This file contains a list of name servers (their IP addresses) which the operating system will use while you surf the web or send emails!

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment